• After the British government declared to free India on the 15th of August 1947, Indian leaders realized the need to have a National-flag for Independent India. Accordingly, an ad-hoc Flag Committee was formed to finalize the Flag. On its recommendation the Constituent Assembly on 22nd July 1947 adopted the Tiranga as the National-flag for free-India.
  • The design of the National-flag for Independent India submitted by Mrs. Suriaya Badr-ud-Din Tyabi was finally approved and accepted by the Flag Committee on 17th July 1947. She was an artist of repute and her husband B.H.F. Tyabji (ICS) was then a Deputy Secretary in the Secretariat of the Constituent Assembly.
  • The first outdoor official flag hoisting of Tiranga on the 15th of August 1947, took place in Canberra, Australia at the residence of Sir Raghunath Paranjpye, the High Commission of India in Australia at 12:00 noon local time equivalent to 7:30 AM IST which means three hours in advance of the first flag hoisting in India that took place at 10:30 AM on the day at the present day Parliament House.
  • The Union Jack there was lowered for the last time personally by Lord Louis Mountbatten, the last Viceroy of India, giving way to the Tiranga, which was raised for the first time by Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru the first Prime Minister of India.
  • The Saffron stands for courage, sacrifice, valour and the spirit of renunciation. It points to both wisdom and action. The White in Tiranga stands for purity. It is also for peace and tranquility. The green stands for growth and hope. Ashoka Chakra signifies India’s continual progress and growth.